101.9 For Life bares nominee list for its first WAKI OPM MUSIC AWARDS

Thursday, April 23, 2009

Your one and only Bespren on radio, 101.9 For Life, honors the creativity and originality of the Filipino artists in the music industry with the first ever WAKI OPM Music Awards on April 25 at the SM Mall of Asia Music Hall.

Unlike other music awards, only 100% Pinoy works were included as official nominees while revivals, music sampling (for rap songs), Tagalized versions and the likes were disqualified.

Making the cut for the Album of the Year category is Yeng Constantino’s “Journey,” Sandwich’s “S Marks the Spot,” Itchyworms’ self-titled album, and Moonstar 88’s “Todo-Combo.”

Martin Nievera, Bugoy Drilon, Piolo Pascual, and Rico Blanco were among the nominees for the Male Vocalist of 2008 category while Sarah Geronimo, Yeng Constantino, Aiza Seguerra, Laarni Lozada, and KC Concepcion were nominated for Female Vocalist of 2008.

For the Band of the Year category, it’s a showdown among top bands Itchyworms, Hale, Spongecola, Sandwich, Moonstar 88, Cueshe, and Imago.

Breakout Star of 2008, on the other hand, includes nominees Bugoy Drilon; Laarni Lozada; Bea Alonzo; and KC Concepcion.

For the song categories, hit songs Habambuhay (Yeng Constantino); Paano na Kaya? (Bugoy Drilon); Migraine (Moonstar 88); Ikaw ang Pangarap (Martin Nievera); and Kahit Na (Sarah Geronimo) compete for the Senti Hit Award while dance crazes Giling Mo (Mocha); Supahpapalicious (Vhong Navarro); Sumayaw Ka (Gloc 9); Giling Giling (Willie Revillame); and K.I.T.T.Y. (Kitty Girls) vie for the Dance Hit category.

Sarah Geronimo and Howie Dorough’s “Ill be There For You,” Project 1’s “Ang Sarap Dito,” and Yeng Constantino’s “Simbang Gabi” are neck-to-neck in claiming the top spot for the Best Collaboration of 2008 category as novelty hits “Giling-Giling” by Willie Revillame, “Angkas” by Masculados, “Supahpapalicious” by Vhong Navarro, and “Malivodka” by Andrew E. are only a notch away from being proclaimed the Best Novelty Song.

WAKI OPM Awards also gives the power to choose to avid Besprens through the Listener’s Choice Awards. Bugoy Drilon, Piolo Pascual, Erik Santos, and Sam Milby battle it out in for the male category as KC Concepcion, Bea Alonzo, Toni Gonzaga, Yeng Constantino, and Sarah Geronimo work it in the female category.

Meanwhile, special awards namely the Kantamercial of 2008, Song of the Year, and DJ’s Choice Award will also be determined by the distinguished judges.

Don’t miss 101.9 For Life’s first ever WAKI OPM Music Awards on April 25, 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM at the SM Mall of Asia Music Hall.

Subscribe to My Feed